For the low, low cost of $7…

July 13, 2015

Say that in your infomercial voice. You know you want to.

Mao what’s for sale? First, a little backstory.

Last week (and over the weekend) there was a post floating around Facebook for bloggers who may want to write for The Huffington Post. I’m sure it was floating elsewhere on the internet, but FB is where I saw it being shared as if it was something great to do.

If you haven’t seen the post, here’s what it basically said: sign up with your email and you could receive a list of the editors for HP. All for the low cost of $7.

In the big scheme of things, $7 isn’t a lot of money. It is, however, more money than you should spend on a list of editors you can potentially get for free with a quick trip to Google or, as some mentioned, Twitter.

This so called list will be of assistance if you should want to write for HP. That sounds awesome right? HP has a ridiculous amount of traffic. What better way to get your name out there than to write for them, right?

There’s just a small little catch. HP pays you in exposure.

I don’t know about you, but exposure can’t pay the rent. Exposure is great at driving traffic to your site (they share your site info in the short bio at the end of the article), but you are reliant on the reader clicking through to your site. Depending on what you write (and if you even get picked up) the exposure may or may not be worth the time and effort.

I say all of this to go back to a post by Awesomely Luvvie and her post regarding exposure. “Dear Brands, Exposure is Not a Real Form of Payment,” touches on the fact that a content creator should receive payment for their work and despite what brands believe, exposure is not a form of payment.

The result of a blogger creating content for a major site such as Huffington Post, the site is able to monetize the blogger’s work. The creator, on the other hand, has to go through the effort of actually doing the work to come up with something original, pimping it put to whatever editor that will take it, and hope that whatever exposure they receive will result in some sort of financial windfall.

No. If I want to write for free I can do that on a myriad of other sites for other content creators (bloggers) or for Wattpad (something I already do) and call it a day.

At the end of the day, I know what I am worth. I go to a day job where I get paid. I write my books and expect to be paid for the work my team and I do. My time—as is everyone else’s– is the most expensive commodity I have. Don’t ask me to give it to you for free and you profit off of it.

No ma’am and/or sir.

I’ll keep my $7 and post here for whatever exposure I may receive.

Now back to my day job because bills.

3 responses to For the low, low cost of $7…

  1. 

    Hell, even writing a blog no one reads is better than paying someone for a list that may or may not ever generate anything at all. At least you are pimping yourself.